E-mail: director@cbseacademic.in Website: www.cbseacademic.in

केन्द्रीय माध्यमिक शिक्षा बोर्ड

🥟 (मानव संसाधन विकास मंत्रालय, भारत सरकार, के अधीन एक स्वायत्त संगठन) 🤻

शिक्षा सदन, 17, इन्सटिट्यूशनल क्षेत्र, राउज एवेन्यु, दिल्ली-110002.

CENTRAL BOARD OF SECONDARY EDUCATION

(An Autonomous Organization under the Union Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India)
"Shiksha Sadan", 17, Institutional Area, Rouse Avenue, Delhi-110002

CBSE/Acad/CBSE/Dir(Arti)/2014

Circular No. Acad.-03/2014 Dated: 7th January, 2014

Tel: 011-23212603

All the Heads of Institutions affiliated to CBSE

Subject: National ICT awards for school teachers

Dear Principal,

The National Curriculum Framework (NCF)-2005 emphasis on use of technology in classrooms and states that "judicious use of technology (Multimedia and ICT) can increase the reach of educational programmes, facilitate management of the system, as well as help address specific learning needs and requirements of young learners, teachers and teacher educators. Possibilities of teaching and learning at varied paces, self-learning, dual modes of study, etc. could all benefit from the use of technology, particularly ICT."

India recognized the importance of ICT in education as early as 1984-85 when the Computer Literacy and Studies in Schools (CLASS) Project was introduced. Since then Indian Government has launched several schemes to integrate ICT with classroom teaching. One such major step was the 'ICT@Schools' scheme which is a window of opportunity to the learners in the schools of India.

"Information and Communication Technology (ICT) in Schools" was launched in December, 2004, to provide opportunities to secondary stage students to develop ICT skills and to promote ICT aided learning process.

Under this scheme *teachers are conferred* with a "National Award for use of ICT in education". In all 87 ICT awards are instituted by Govt. of India for different states/UTs and seven autonomous bodies/ organizations under MHRD.

The award proposes to felicitate those teachers who have enhanced student learning by effectively and innovatively integrating technology supported learning into the school curriculum and subject teaching, and thereby promoted enquiry-based cooperative-collaborative learning using ICT amongst students. Teachers of primary, upper primary, secondary, higher secondary schools from the following organizations are eligible to be nominated under this scheme:

- State Government schools run by local bodies and government aided schools (including the schools affiliated to State Boards of Schools Education)
- ii. Central Government schools i.e. Kendriya Vidyalays (KVs), Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas (JNVs), Central Tibetan Schools (under CTSA), Schools run by Ministry of Defence (MOD) i.e Sainik Schools etc. and schools run by Atomic Energy Education Society (AEES).
- iii. Schools affiliated to Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) other than those at (i) and (ii) above.
- iv. Schools affiliated to Council for Indian Schools Certificate Examination (CISCE).

As per the guidelines of the Scheme, the selection process for identifying the awardee teachers involves the following:

- 1. Schools need to send detailed entries in the prescribed format along with supporting documents to the Directorate of Education of their States/UTs/Autonomous Organizations through proper channel (Principal/DEO/Regional offices etc.)
- A Committee under the chairpersonship of Secretary /Commissioner (Education) / Chairman of the concerned state / UT / Autonomous organizations (KVS, NVS, CBSE, CISCE, CTSA, AEES etc.) will scrutinize all the entries and shortlist the candidates and forward the same to the chairpersons of the awards committee along with minutes of the meeting.

- 3. Shortlisted candidates are required to make presentations before the Awards' Committee/Jury. Initiation in this regard is sent to teachers directly by CIET-NCERT with intimation to their directorate / organizations.
- 4. The awards committee recommends the requisite number of awardees to the ministry with justification. The ministry further processes the recommendation for the awards.

Each awardee teacher is awarded with a laptop and a commendation certificate. All winners form a community of resource persons through networking.

By now, 29 candidates (13 in the year 2010, 7 in the year 2011 and 9 in the year 2012) have been awarded with the 'National ICT Awards for Teachers'.

It is brought to the notice of all Heads of the schools interested in nominating their teachers for *National ICT Awards for Teachers* may send their nominations on the prescribed form along with supporting documents to the Directorate of Education of their States/UTs/Autonomous Organizations through proper channel (Principal/DEO/Regional offices etc.). The prescribed form and further information may be obtained from the websites www.ciet.nic.in.

Sd/-

(Dr. Sadhana Parashar)

Professor & Director (Academic, Research, Training and Innovation)

Copy to the respective Heads of Directorates, Organizations and Institutions as indicated below with a request to disseminate the information to all the schools under their jurisdiction:

- 1. The Commissioner, Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan, 18-Institutional Area, Shaheed Jeet Singh Marg, New Delhi- 110016.
- 2. The Commissioner, Navodaya Vidayalaya Samiti, A-28, Kailash Colony, New Delhi.
- 3. The Director of Education, Directorate of Education, Govt. of NCT of Delhi, Old Secretariat, Delhi-110054.
- 4. The Director of Public Instructions (Schools), Union Territory Secretariat, Sector-9, Chandigarh-160017.
- 5. The Director of Education, Govt. of Sikkim, Gangtok, Sikkim-737101.
- 6. The Director of School Education, Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh, Itanagar-791111
- 7. The Director of Education, Govt. of A&N Islands, Port Blair- 744101.
- 8. The Director of Education, S.I.E., CBSE Cell, VIP Road, Junglee Ghat, P.O. 744103, A&N Islands.
- 9. The Secretary, Central Tibetan School Administration, ESS Plaza, Community Centre, Sector 3, Rohini, Delhi-110085
- 10. All the Regional Officers of CBSE with the request to send this circular to all the Heads of the affiliated schools of the Board in their respective regions.
- 11. The Education Officers/ AEOs of the Academic Branch, CBSE.
- 12. The Research Officer (Technology) with the request to put this circular on the CBSE website.
- 13. The Library and Information Officer, CBSE.
- 14. E.O. to Chairman, CBSE
- 15. DO/ PA to Secretary, CBSE
- 16. PA to CE, CBSE
- 17. PA to Director (Acad.)
- 18. PA to HOD (AIEEE)
- 19. PA to HOD (Edusat)
- 20. PRO, CBSE.
- 21. PS to Chairman, CBSE
- 22. PS to Secretary, CBSE
- 23. SO to CE, CBSE
- 24. PS to Director (Special Exams)
- 25. PA to Professor & Director (Academics, Research, Training & Innovation)

Sd/-

(Dr. Sadhana Parashar)

Professor & Director (Academic, Research, Training and Innovation)